Join Mailing List

Join the official Steel City Strings mailing list to stay informed about upcoming concerts and events. We don’t share your details with anyone else and you get the most up to date information about what Steel City Strings is up to. And not to worry, you can unsubscribe at any time.  

read more

Meet the Composers

In our “The Composer is in the Room” program, we feature a line up of all Australian composers. All of the composer are alive today and actively composing, except for Frederick Septimus Kelly who was sadly killed in the final days of the Battle of the Somme. Here you can read all of their biographies […]

read more

ARTIST PLAYLIST: Matthew Tsalidis – Violinist

To help you learn about some of our musicians, we’re asking some of them to submit their ‘playlist’. Today, we hear from Matthew Tsalidis, one of Steel City Strings’ violinists.   Toss the Feathers (trad.) The Corrs Forgiven Not Forgotten Growing up in the 90’s, I was a huge fan of The Corrs. ‘Toss the […]

read more


The members of Steel City Strings are outstanding examples of hard work, enterprise, enthusiasm and dedication. They reach for the stars and beyond. More power to these wonderful people.

Richard Gill AO

In Debussy's Sacred and Profane Dances of 1904 the orchestra was joined by harpist Paulina Smirnov whose scintillating playing created a wonderful and subtly-nuanced centrepiece for the concert.


A fascinating program of works from various musical periods... The orchestra played with a strong sense of ensemble, and brought an infectious verve to the Mozart.



Community Building Partnership
Wollongong City

Become a volunteer

We rely heavily on volunteer support, and welcome new volunteers. If you would like to register as a volunteer please call 0467 869 478 or complete this form.